Join our Newsletter — 33% off our NHI Course
Home› Guides› CCAS Certification Guide: Crypto AML Exam, Eligibility and…
Guide Security Certifications

CCAS Certification Guide: Crypto AML Exam, Eligibility and VASP Career Value

← All guides
By NHI Mgmt Group, edited by Lalit Choda Updated 8 November 2026 10 min read
On this page

Compliance teams at crypto exchanges, custodians and banks with crypto exposure need staff who understand both anti-money laundering rules and how value actually moves on a blockchain, and very few general AML credentials test the second half. The Certified Cryptoasset Anti-Financial Crime Specialist (CCAS) from ACAMS is built for that gap. This guide sets out what ACAMS publishes about CCAS: who it targets, the 40-credit eligibility rule, the 100-question exam and its three weighted domains, what the package contains, and what ACAMS says and does not yet say about pricing and continuing education. It adds a preparation plan and career context for virtual asset service provider (VASP) compliance roles, investigators and cyber practitioners who work on crypto fraud. Facts were checked on acams.org and in the ACAMS CCAS factsheet on 8 November 2026. ACAMS describes CCAS as a new programme that is not currently available to buy online, so confirm details with ACAMS before you commit.

Key takeaways

  • A crypto specialist credential, not a replacement for CAMS. ACAMS positions CCAS for crypto-sector compliance staff and for holders of CAMS and other ACAMS credentials who want to apply their skills to cryptoassets.
  • Same eligibility model as other ACAMS specialist credentials. You need active ACAMS membership and 40 eligibility credits from experience, education and training; crypto-sector experience is desirable but not required.
  • The exam is 100 questions in 175 minutes. It uses multiple-choice and multiple-select items across three domains weighted 30%, 35% and 35%.
  • The learning path is three online certificate courses. The package includes a PDF study guide, flashcards, online courses with review questions and a post-assessment, a practice exam and the exam itself.
  • Some details are not published yet. ACAMS says the new programme is not available online at present and gives no CCAS-specific recertification rules on its pages, so ask ACAMS for price and renewal terms in writing.

Who the certification is for

ACAMS states that CCAS was developed with input from cryptoasset sector representatives, AML and counter-terrorist financing professionals, and subject matter experts with regulatory and law enforcement backgrounds. It targets professionals in the crypto sector who are responsible for cryptocurrency compliance and crypto-related financial crime risk, and people moving into that sector from general AML work.

Role ACAMS listsWhy CCAS helpsTypical employer
AML or KYC analyst, transaction monitoring analystApplies customer due diligence and alert handling to wallets, on-chain flows and exchange accountsExchanges, custodians, payment firms, banks with crypto clients
AML investigator, fraud investigator, intelligence analystAdds typologies such as mixers, chain-hopping and scam cash-out routesVASPs, banks, blockchain analytics firms, FIUs
Chief compliance officer, SAR/STR reporting officerShows supervisors that the compliance lead understands crypto-specific riskLicensed VASPs and banks
Regulatory examiner, law enforcementCommon vocabulary for supervision and investigation of VASPsSupervisors, police, prosecutors
Blockchain technologist, legal counsel, cyber security professionalBridges technical, legal and compliance views of the same incidentVASPs, law firms, security teams
  • Good fit for CAMS holders: ACAMS names CAMS, CKYCA, CTMA and CAFCA holders as people who may want to apply their skills to the crypto sector. See the CAMS Certification Guide for the general AML credential.
  • Good fit for cyber practitioners on crypto fraud: security staff who handle account takeover, wallet drains and scam proceeds gain the compliance side of the same cases. See the Fraud and Cyber Convergence Guide.
  • Weaker fit: people with no AML grounding at all. ACAMS says understanding the financial crime framework matters more than direct crypto-sector experience, so a beginner may be better served by a foundation credential first.

Exam format and domains

What ACAMS publishes about the exam

ItemWhat ACAMS statesSource
Questions100 multiple-choice and multiple-select questionsCCAS factsheet
Time175 minutesCCAS factsheet
Passing scoreNot stated on the factsheet or certification pageAsk ACAMS or check the candidate handbook
ProcessBuy a package, complete the learning path, apply; once approved, ACAMS emails instructions to schedule the examCCAS factsheet
Delivery and languagesNot stated on the factsheet or certification pageAsk ACAMS
AvailabilityACAMS states the new CCAS programme is not currently available online; pre-purchase through the factsheet contact route or ACAMS directlyCCAS certification page

The three domains

Each domain corresponds to one of the three ACAMS online certificate courses in the learning path. The "what to study" column is our summary of the domain titles, not ACAMS topic lists.

DomainWeightWhat to study
Cryptoassets and blockchain30%How blockchains, wallets, keys, exchanges, stablecoins and DeFi work; how transactions are traced; privacy-enhancing techniques and their risk
AML foundations for cryptoassets and blockchain35%Money laundering, terrorist financing and sanctions evasion typologies using cryptoassets; international standards and national rules for VASPs; suspicious activity reporting
Risk management programmes for cryptoassets and blockchain35%Risk assessment, customer due diligence, wallet screening, transaction monitoring, Travel Rule processes, governance and independent testing in a crypto business

How the domains map to day-to-day obligations

The international baseline is FATF Recommendation 15: its 2019 update and Interpretative Note extended AML and counter-terrorist financing measures to virtual assets and VASPs, and FATF publishes regular targeted updates on how jurisdictions implement it (the fifth in July 2024). The mapping below is NHI Mgmt Group's view of where each domain applies in a VASP compliance programme; check the rules in your own jurisdiction.

DomainProgramme areaRelated guide
Cryptoassets and blockchainUnderstanding custody, signing and wallet riskCrypto Exchange Identity and Key Security Guide
AML foundationsOriginator and beneficiary information for transfers (the FATF "Travel Rule")Crypto Travel Rule Compliance Guide
AML foundationsEU anti-money laundering regime and its supervisorEU AML Regulation and AMLA Guide
Risk management programmesCustomer due diligence, PEP and sanctions screeningCDD, EDD, PEP and sanctions screening
Risk management programmesAlert design, tuning and investigationAML programme and transaction monitoring

Prerequisites and experience

ACAMS sets three conditions for CCAS:

  • Membership: an active ACAMS membership.
  • Eligibility credits: 40 credits based on a combination of experience, education and training. Full rules sit in the CCAS candidate handbook; for the general ACAMS credit model, see the CAMS Certification Guide, and confirm the CCAS version with ACAMS.
  • Recommended experience: roughly 18 months to two years of anti-financial crime experience, and ideally at least one year working in the crypto space. ACAMS calls crypto-sector experience desirable but not a prerequisite.

Practical reading of the rule: a compliance analyst with two years in bank AML and no crypto experience is eligible and is the profile ACAMS expects to succeed, provided they put real effort into the technical domain. A blockchain engineer with no AML background will find the 70% of the exam on AML and risk programmes the harder part.

Preparation plan

The package is structured around three online certificate courses, review questions, a post-assessment and a practice exam. ACAMS also offers an optional Virtual Classroom Series add-on. The plan below assumes about six to eight hours a week over ten to twelve weeks.

  1. Weeks 1 to 2, orientation: confirm eligibility and membership, read the candidate handbook, and download the study guide. List which domain is your weakest.
  2. Weeks 3 to 5, cryptoassets and blockchain course: trace a few public transactions on a block explorer, follow funds from a wallet to an exchange deposit address, and learn the difference between custodial and self-hosted wallets. Read the Blockchain and Distributed Ledger Security Guide for the technical side.
  3. Weeks 6 to 8, AML foundations course: map crypto typologies (scam proceeds, ransomware payments, sanctions evasion, mixers, cross-chain bridges) to the reporting and screening controls that catch them. The Crypto Scam and Drainer Guide gives concrete scam patterns.
  4. Weeks 9 to 10, risk management programmes course: draft a one-page risk assessment for a hypothetical exchange, then walk through onboarding, wallet screening, Travel Rule data exchange and alert handling.
  5. Weeks 11 to 12, review: take the post-assessment and the practice exam under a 175-minute limit, then revise by domain weight. Apply for the exam only when you score consistently on the practice exam.

Study with real cases: large exchange thefts and scam networks show how stolen funds are laundered across chains and services. The crypto exchange breaches guide summarises lessons from several incidents.

Cost, renewal and continuing education

ItemWhat ACAMS publishes
Certification packageThe factsheet shows an unlabelled price of US$595 below the add-on prices, which appears to be the package price, but the layout does not confirm this; confirm the current price with ACAMS before buying
Virtual Classroom Series add-onUS$1,995 private sector, US$1,495 public sector; bundling with the package can save up to US$195
Group pricingGroup discounts available on request
MembershipActive ACAMS membership required (priced separately)
Continuing educationACAMS states the designation is maintained through ongoing membership and education; no CCAS-specific credit total, cycle or fee is published on the certification page

ACAMS's specialist-level recertification page, checked on 8 November 2026, lists CAMS and CGSS (three-year cycle, 60 and 30 credits respectively) but not CCAS. Do not assume the CAMS rules apply. Ask ACAMS for the CCAS continuing education requirement and record it with your certification date.

Where it fits on the career path

CCAS is a specialisation. Its value is highest where a regulator expects crypto-specific competence: licensed VASPs, banks onboarding crypto businesses, and supervisors and investigators who examine them.

Your starting pointSuggested sequenceWhy
New to financial crimeFoundation AML learning, then CAMS, then CCAS70% of CCAS is AML and programme content
Bank AML analyst moving to a VASPCCAS directlyACAMS's target profile: AFC experience, crypto optional
CAMS holder in a crypto businessCCAS to evidence crypto specialismNamed by ACAMS as an intended candidate group
Fraud or internal investigatorCFE or CFCS for breadth, CCAS for crypto casesSee the CFE Certified Fraud Examiner Certification Guide and CFCS Certification Guide
Security engineer at an exchangeCCAS as a companion to security credentialsLinks wallet and key security to compliance outcomes

For role descriptions and progression, see the AML and Financial Crime Analyst Career Guide.

Where identity fits

Crypto compliance is identity work at two levels. Customer identity proofing and KYC decide who may open an account; see the Identity Proofing and KYC Guide. Inside the business, hot wallet signers, exchange API keys and automated withdrawal services are non-human identities whose compromise leads straight to laundering cases. CCAS holders who understand both sides can explain to investigators why a theft happened, not only where the funds went.

Common mistakes candidates make

  • Buying before confirming availability: ACAMS says the new programme is not on sale online; get written confirmation of price, inclusions and exam timing.
  • Assuming CAMS renewal rules: CCAS continuing education terms are not published on the pages checked; ask.
  • Underweighting AML content: technical candidates focus on blockchain mechanics, which is only 30% of the exam.
  • Studying only one jurisdiction: VASP rules differ widely; learn the international standards first, then your local regime.
  • Letting membership lapse: active ACAMS membership is a condition of eligibility and of maintaining the designation.

Practitioner checklist

  • Check the CCAS page for current availability and contact ACAMS to pre-purchase if it is still offline.
  • Confirm your 40 eligibility credits against the CCAS candidate handbook.
  • Activate or renew ACAMS membership before applying.
  • Get the package price, inclusions and continuing education terms from ACAMS in writing.
  • Decide whether you need the Virtual Classroom Series or can self-study.
  • Study the three domains in proportion to their 30/35/35 weights.
  • Practise on public block explorers and real case studies, not only course slides.
  • Take the practice exam under the 175-minute limit before you apply to sit the real exam.

Standards and references

Related NHI Mgmt Group resources: CAMS Certification Guide, Crypto Travel Rule Compliance Guide, AML and Financial Crime Analyst Career Guide, Crypto Exchange Identity and Key Security Guide.

Free weekly newsletter

Subscribe to the NHI & AI Identity Journal

The latest on NHI and Agentic AI security – articles, research, breaches, news and events every week.

Bonus 33% off our NHI Course when you subscribe.

NHIMG Editorial Note
Researched and written by the NHI Mgmt Group editorial team using AI tools, under the editorial direction of Lalit Choda. Facts are drawn from the sources listed on this page and checked by our automated quality process. Last updated 8 November 2026. Spotted an error? Use our contact page.
NHI Mgmt Group, the independent authority on Non-Human Identity, IAM and Agentic AI security. nhimg.org