CompTIA's catalogue now uses series labels (Plus, Pro, Xpert, Expansion and Essentials), and the "Pro" and "Xpert" names are easy to confuse with seniority when they describe quite different things. The security titles in the Pro series (Security Pro, CyberDefense Pro and Ethical Hacker Pro) are training courses with a performance-based competency assessment in a simulated environment, each built around a Plus certification, while SecurityX sits in the Xpert series as CompTIA's expert-level security certification exam. This guide explains who each is for, what the assessments contain, how to prepare, what CompTIA does and does not state about cost and renewal, and how they fit on a career path. All exam facts were checked on CompTIA's own certification pages on 8 November 2026; CompTIA updates versions regularly, so confirm before you book. For the full SecurityX exam profile, see the CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+) Guide.
Key takeaways
- Pro is not a level above Plus. CompTIA's Pro security titles are courses whose pages say they prepare you for Security+, CySA+ (V3) or ethical hacking skills; they are hands-on companions to the Plus track, not replacements for it.
- Every Pro security assessment is performance-based. Candidates complete tasks in a simulated environment, scored from 200 to 2,000, with pass marks of 1,400 (Security Pro, Ethical Hacker Pro) or 1,370 (CyberDefense Pro).
- SecurityX is the expert-level exam. CAS-005 has up to 90 multiple-choice and performance-based questions in 165 minutes, scored pass or fail, across governance, architecture, engineering and operations.
- Experience expectations differ by an order of magnitude. Pro titles recommend foundational networking and security knowledge; SecurityX recommends at least 10 years of IT experience including 5 in hands-on security.
- Check cost and renewal at purchase. CompTIA's Pro pages do not state a price, validity period or continuing education requirement, so get those terms in writing before buying.
Who the certification is for
CompTIA's certifications page lists these series labels. The ones relevant to security practitioners are:
| Series | Security-relevant titles | What it is | Typical candidate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plus | Security+, CySA+, PenTest+, Network+, Cloud+, SecOT+ | Proctored certification exams | Practitioners proving job-role knowledge |
| Pro | Security Pro, CyberDefense Pro, Ethical Hacker Pro (plus non-security titles such as Client Pro and Cisco Networking Pro) | Training course with an included performance-based competency assessment | Students, career changers and teams who need lab practice alongside a Plus exam |
| Xpert | SecurityX, CloudNetX, DataAI | Expert-level certification exams | Senior engineers and architects |
| Expansion | SecAI+, AutoOps+ | Newer specialist certifications | Practitioners adding a specialism |
- Security Pro: learners building foundations who want hands-on practice in network security, access control and identity, cryptography and incident response. CompTIA says it prepares for Security+ (V7).
- CyberDefense Pro: aspiring SOC and blue team analysts. CompTIA says it prepares for CySA+ (V3).
- Ethical Hacker Pro: learners heading towards authorised penetration testing. CompTIA's page describes ethical hacking skills and does not state a link to PenTest+.
- SecurityX: security architects and senior security engineers. CompTIA maps it to roles such as security architect, systems requirements planner and security control assessor under the NICE framework and DoD 8140.
Hiring managers should read a Pro credential as evidence that the holder completed a structured lab course and passed a simulated practical assessment, and a Plus or Xpert certification as evidence of a proctored exam. Both are useful; they answer different questions.
Exam format and domains
| Security Pro | CyberDefense Pro | Ethical Hacker Pro | SecurityX (CAS-005) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Format | Performance-based tasks, simulated environment | Performance-based tasks, simulated environment | Performance-based tasks, simulated environment | Multiple-choice and performance-based questions |
| Size | Up to 15 lab questions, up to 55 tasks | Up to 45 questions and up to 45 tasks | Up to 14 lab questions, up to 50 tasks | Up to 90 questions |
| Time | 120 minutes | 120 minutes | 150 minutes | 165 minutes |
| Scoring | 200 to 2,000; pass 1,400 | 200 to 2,000; pass 1,370 | 200 to 2,000; pass 1,400 | Pass or fail, no scaled score |
| Assessment launched | 7 November 2023 | 15 August 2023 | 13 May 2020 | 17 December 2024 |
| Linked Plus or prior knowledge | Security+ (V7) | CySA+ (V3) | Not stated | Network+, Security+, CySA+, Cloud+, PenTest+ level knowledge |
Domains
| Credential | Domains as listed by CompTIA |
|---|---|
| Security Pro | Network security; threats and vulnerabilities; access control and identity management; cryptography; incident response and recovery |
| CyberDefense Pro | Threat detection and analysis; incident response; security operations; compliance and risk management; automation and scripting |
| Ethical Hacker Pro | Reconnaissance and footprinting; scanning and enumeration; exploitation and vulnerability testing; web application security; wireless network security; incident response and reporting |
| SecurityX | Governance, risk and compliance (20%); security architecture (27%); security engineering (31%); security operations (22%) |
What "performance-based" means in practice: rather than recalling a definition, the candidate completes tasks such as configuring a control, analysing an artefact or finding a weakness inside a simulated system. Time pressure is real: Security Pro allows 120 minutes for up to 55 tasks, a little over two minutes per task, so fluency matters more than memorisation. CompTIA's Security Pro page also shows a "V8" label that it does not explain alongside the Security+ (V7) reference; check which version your course licence covers.
How the Pro assessments differ from a Plus exam
| Aspect | Pro competency assessment | Plus or Xpert certification exam |
|---|---|---|
| Delivery | Included with the course, inside a simulated environment | Separate exam voucher, proctored delivery |
| Question style | Lab questions broken into tasks you complete in the simulator | Mix of multiple-choice and performance-based items |
| Scoring | Scaled 200 to 2,000 with a published pass mark | Scaled score for Plus exams; pass or fail only for SecurityX |
| What it proves | That you can carry out the tasks the course teaches | That you meet the job-role knowledge CompTIA defines for the certification |
| Best use | Building and evidencing practical skill while studying | Meeting job adverts, contracts and compliance requirements that name the certification |
The practical implication is that a Pro assessment rewards repetition in the simulator: the tasks mirror the course labs, so candidates who complete every lab under time usually find the assessment familiar. A Plus or Xpert exam rewards breadth, because scenarios can draw on any objective and the performance-based items are fewer and broader. Candidates who only practise in one simulator can be surprised by how differently a proctored exam frames the same skill, so mix sources when preparing for the exam itself.
Prerequisites and experience
- Security Pro: CompTIA recommends foundational knowledge of networking and basic cybersecurity concepts. No formal prerequisite is stated.
- CyberDefense Pro: foundational knowledge of networking, cybersecurity and threat detection.
- Ethical Hacker Pro: foundational knowledge of networking, cybersecurity concepts and basic penetration testing techniques.
- SecurityX: CompTIA recommends a minimum of 10 years of general hands-on IT experience, including 5 years of hands-on security, plus Network+, Security+, CySA+, Cloud+ and PenTest+ or equivalent knowledge. These are recommendations rather than enforced prerequisites, but the exam is written for that audience.
Choosing between them: if you are early in your career, pair Security Pro with Security+ and add CyberDefense Pro or Ethical Hacker Pro depending on whether you lean towards defence or testing. If you already hold several Plus certifications and design or approve controls, SecurityX is the relevant target and the Pro courses add little. Teams that train apprentices often use the Pro courses as a common lab curriculum because the simulated environment removes the need to build internal ranges.
Preparation plan
- Download the objectives: each CompTIA page links an objectives document. Map every objective to something you have done hands-on, and mark gaps.
- Build the knowledge layer first: for Security Pro, work through the Security+ content; for CyberDefense Pro, CySA+ content. The Pro assessment tests doing, but you need the concepts to know what "done" looks like.
- Practise in the simulator under time: complete labs end to end within realistic time limits. Track tasks you abandon; those show you where speed is lacking.
- Add identity depth: access control and identity management is an explicit Security Pro domain, and identity sits behind most SecurityX scenarios. Practise least privilege, MFA configuration and service account controls. See the IAM and IGA Basics.
- For Ethical Hacker Pro, stay within authorised scope: practise only in the provided simulations or ranges you own; reporting is an assessed domain, so write up findings as you go.
- For SecurityX, rehearse architecture judgement: engineering (31%) and architecture (27%) dominate, so practise reviewing designs, choosing between controls and justifying trade-offs, not just configuring tools.
- Take a full timed run: complete one uninterrupted mock at the full duration before the real attempt.
Cost, renewal and continuing education
| Item | Pro security titles | SecurityX |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Not listed on the certification pages (sold as course licences through "Buy Now") | Not listed on the certification page; see the SecurityX guide |
| What you buy | Course access with the competency assessment included | Exam voucher (training sold separately) |
| Validity and renewal | Not stated on CompTIA's Pro pages as checked on 8 November 2026 | Covered by CompTIA's continuing education programme; see the CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+) Guide |
| Version horizon | Assessment launch dates 2020 to 2023 | CAS-005 retirement usually three years after launch, estimated 2027 |
Because CompTIA does not publish validity terms on the Pro pages, ask the seller whether the credential expires, how long course access lasts, and whether assessment retakes are included. For the general mechanics of renewal across certifications, see the Certification Renewal and CPE Requirements Guide.
Where it fits on the career path
| Career stage | Typical role | CompTIA route | Related guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry | Junior security or IT support with security duties | Security Pro alongside Security+ | CompTIA Security+ Guide |
| Early defensive | SOC analyst | CyberDefense Pro alongside CySA+ | SOC Analyst Career Guide |
| Early offensive | Junior penetration tester | Ethical Hacker Pro, then PenTest+ | Penetration Tester Career Guide |
| Senior | Security architect or senior engineer | SecurityX after several Plus certifications and years of hands-on work | Security Architect Career Guide |
- For hiring managers: when a job requires a certification for a compliance framework such as DoD 8140, check whether the specific credential is on the approved list; CompTIA's SecurityX page cites DoD 8140 role mappings, while the Pro pages do not.
- For learners: the Pro titles are a good way to prove practical ability early, but most job adverts still name the Plus or Xpert certification. Plan to hold both where budget allows.
- Other options: compare blue team and offensive routes in the Blue Team Certifications Guide and the Cybersecurity Certifications Guide.
Practitioner checklist
- Confirm the current version and objectives document on the CompTIA page for your chosen title before you buy.
- Decide whether you need a proctored certification (Plus or Xpert), a practical lab credential (Pro), or both, based on the roles you are targeting.
- Ask the seller in writing about Pro course access length, assessment retakes and whether the credential expires.
- Map each objective to hands-on evidence and close gaps in the simulator before the assessment.
- Practise to time: about two minutes per task for Security Pro, and full-length mocks for every title.
- For SecurityX, confirm your experience is close to CompTIA's recommendation of 10 years in IT with 5 in security before committing.
- For compliance-driven roles, check the employer's approved certification list rather than assuming a Pro credential counts.
- Record completion evidence and dates for your CV and any continuing education log.
Standards and references
- CompTIA: Certifications
- CompTIA: Security Pro
- CompTIA: CyberDefense Pro
- CompTIA: Ethical Hacker Pro
- CompTIA: SecurityX
Related NHI Mgmt Group resources: CompTIA SecurityX (CASP+) Guide · CompTIA CySA+ Guide · CompTIA PenTest+ Guide · Cybersecurity Certifications Guide